Slow it Down

slow it down.

I feel like Jesus probably had a lot happening. The pressure of bringing along twelve young guys, managing empathy for sick and oppressed people, dodging the judgment of hyper religious power brokers and figuring out where to eat and sleep…kind of a lot going on.

But then I also remember that he walked everywhere. He was not reachable by phone, text, email.

The pace of his life, though full, had built in space. I’m trying to learn how to appreciate the wisdom in planing my daily pace; not merely my tasks.

The origin story for humanity mentions that work will be toil. There will be elements of drudgery, difficulty and failure in producing what is needed. In response to those elements I can sometimes double down on toil. I can scheme to get ahead of failure, hustle to push through difficulty and drive multiple things at once to mitigate any potential failures. In all that scheming, hustling and driving my pace can go unchecked. In this first month of January, I’m checking in on my pace a bit.

How’s your pace?

Leave a comment