tap on.

IMG_2739

may the God of hope fill you with joy and peace as you follow him,

I saw this text today.
There’s something compelling to me about the sequence of those words.

God of hope, fill you with joy and peace, That clause is followed by this one:

so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. 

It seems like the apostle Paul is suggesting that as we make tangible choices to follow the way, God will fill us with joy and peace. Those then, would be our sign that God is worth trusting and we will overflow with hope. It starts with the following. As we make choices to follow, we get joy and peace, which is an encouragement to follow more, trust more, hope more.

The other day I loaded up money on my Sunrail card rather than buy the monthly pass. I’m experimenting to see which way is the best value for me. As I got on the train I was tempted to board with out “tapping” my card. If the conductor doesn’t ask for your ticket then no one knows you got a free ride. It’s an easy thing to do and happens often. It would save me money. As I considered it this thought entered my mind, “does God need you to steal $3 in order to get you what you need?” Oh, of course not. I tapped my card, paid for my ride. It’s a small thing, but the longer I live the more I realize that the Way of our God starts with small things. The decision to pay for my Sunrail ride is an opportunity to trust God and trusting God never disappoints.

Leave a Reply

