add it to the pile

Yesterday there were some good questions that came up. When you start to think about the course your life has taken that always happens. How did I get to this point? What are three key decisions that I’ve made in my life? How did I make them? What key decision could I make in the next 6 months that would affect the course of my life? Where is God in those decisions? Is there a right or wrong? Has Got set a course for my life that it’s my job to find/follow?

It made me think of this…

Trust in the LORD and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Delight yourself in the LORD
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

that’s an ancient prayer from the followers of God. You can read the whole thing here. I really like this little prayer. It reminds me who God really is.

See, the responsibilities of life can pile up pretty quickly. I get focused on meeting them or at least not letting them fall. Soon thinking of God becomes one more responsibility on the pile. It’s something I feel like I have to do, and can stress about whether I’m doing it well or not. When things get like this, God becomes less and less helpful and more like a burden, and I’ll only put up with a burden for so long before I quit thinking of God at all. I like the prayer because it reminds me that’s not who God wants to be for me.

The prayer says delight in the Lord and He’ll give you the desires of your heart. I love that reminder. God is not watching to see if I make the right decision, or counting how many times I check in. He is interested in my lasting joy and fulfillment in life. He also happens to have all the power in the world at his disposal. So then connection to God is not a burden, but my greatest opportunity. When I am taking advantage of it, I find the courage I need to pursue life with creativity.

Leave a comment